The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

Title: The Saturday Night Ghost Club

Author: Craig Davidson

Release Date: July 9, 2019

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Synopsis: A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of "Stranger Things" and "Stand by Me" about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends.

Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls--a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place--Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns twelve, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the "Saturday Night Ghost Club." But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly lighthearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become.

My Review: What a quick awesome read! Perfect read for a Saturday night.. 

There’s nothing better than reading a summer book in the summer! Set in the 80’s no less!

We follow a group of misfits, who come together and form the Saturday Night Ghost Club.. and what is their mission.. well to hunt down ghosts of course!

A coming of age novel, written in dual POV, but I won’t spoil between whom because this is a very important piece of the story. A coming of age that borders a lot of that the kids are still learning, and what may have a different perspective as they grow older. Keep in mind this novel is set in a time where little kids were not running around everywhere with cell phones and ipads. It’s got the human contact that kids should be growing up with in today;s age, so there’s definitely a lot to learn from this novel. The friendships will feel more important, and more sincere. 

This novel has been compared to Stranger Things, and stating the obvious about it being set in the 80’s the other important comparison is the friendships. The way they bond, and come together. As a reader I felt nostalgic, of simpler times.. I grew up in the 90’s, a decade new to soo many things that are now vital to the everyday life. But I am grateful I was among the last few generations to have been able to have a wonderful childhood, of being outdoors all summer, and knowing nothing of cell phones, the internet, tablets.. This novel will force you to face your memories..

I will read, and reread this novel for many many years to come. It’s certainly timeless.. and captures an important part of the 20th century, that should never ever be forgotten.

I super duper recommend this novel.. tell me some of your favorite memories from your childhood?

Click here to ORDER your copy TODAY!

Thank You #PenguinBooks for sending me this beautiful finished copy of the novel in exchange for an honest review.. #Partner

Love, Ellie

Ellie GonzalezComment