A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

image.png

Title: A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Author: Brigid Kemmerer

Release Date: January 29, 2019

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

SynopsisIn a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall … and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

My Review: What a wonderful novel! I was taken to a different world and I loved it! It’s definitely an interesting (modern) take on Beauty and the Beast. I love retellings of classic fairy tales, and this one did not disappoint. 

Before I begin telling you what all the things I enjoyed about the book, I will share the thing I loved most. My favorite: Multiple POVs. Ember in the Ashes truly changed the way I read stories (it was my first multiple POV novel) and now it’s been my go-to.

We meet Harper the main character, with cerebral palsy (a condition that affects body movements and muscle coordination) but this doesn’t stop her from being a true heroin throughout the story. We meet Then, the Crown Prince, Rhen and his guardsman Grey, I introduce them both at the same time here on my review because I love them both equally!

I won’t give too much away, but I guarantee if you fall in love with one, you’ll fall in love with the other.

A modern, out of the norm, yet perfectly captivating take on the classic Beauty and the Beast story. Although the novel is almost 500 pages, it’s like C. S. Lewis once said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” In my case it’s a cup of coffee, but in either way, I didn’t mind the length of the book. I really enjoyed it, and think there was some repetitiveness, but it wasn’t mundane.

I highly, highly recommend this title, it’s worth the 500 pages, it will enchant you, and give you all the feels! 

On Sale January 29, 2019!

Thank You #BloomsburyPublishing for sending me this beautiful galley copy of the novel in exchange for an honest review.. #Partner

Love, Ellie

Ellie GonzalezComment